cake.jpg

I was given a book by Cherry Extract to read. It is a book called Eat Cake. I really enjoyed it. The book is about a lady who loved to make cakes. I can totally relate. If I did not have an easy weight gain problem I would make cakes more often.

Saturday was my cousin’s birthday party. I took the opportunity to make a cake. I know I wasn’t asked to but heck I could not resist. The cake of choice was from the book Eat Cake, a pistachio cake. I liked it, so did Big Sis and Chee.

 

 

Pistachio Cake

(Use a 13 X 9 inch baking pan)

¾ cup shelled natural pistachios unsalted

1 cup all purpose four

2 teaspoons baking soda

1-teaspoon ground cardamom

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup whole milk

¼ teaspoon vanilla

1 ½ sticks unsalted butter soften

1-cup sugar

3 large eggs

Preheat oven 350. Butter 13X9 cake pan line the bottom of the pan with wax paper that is buttered & dusted with flour. (I don’t have a food processor, if you do great use it) Pulse pistachios until finely grounded. Add 1 cup of flour, baking power cardamom and salt pulse only enough to mix.

Combine milk and vanilla in a measuring cup

Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl until pale and fluffy with an electric mixer. (It can be done without electric mixer, cause my mixer decided to die, I did not even know it was sick.) Add eggs one at a time beating well after each addition. Alternately add pistachio flour mixture and milk, mix in batches beginning and ending with flour mixure at low speed until combined.

Spread batter evenly in cake pan and bake in middle of oven until tester comes out clean 20-30 minutes. (Mine took 30 minutes) Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then invert onto rack and remove wax paper. Cut into squares and eat. Yummy.

