I was at the grocery store, when I came across eggs for .99cents. That is a great price so I put one carton in the cart and strolled away.
Later I was putting the eggs away in the fridge when I noticed, oh geese, I have another full carton of eggs in the fridge already. This is the time I wish I had a photographic memory. We don’t eat eggs all that often. Now what can I do with all these eggs.
Yeah, Make a Cake.
So I pulled out one of the trusty cake recipe books and found one that utilized… Eggs…
The cake came out really nice. It is soft and light not too sweet.

Chiffon Cake
2 cups shifted all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups sugar
1-tablespoon baking powder
1/2 cup cooking oil
7 egg yolks
1-teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons finely shredded orange peel
7 egg whites

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4-teaspoon salt
In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and 1/4-teaspoon salt. Make a well in the center. Add oil, egg yolks, vanilla, and 3/4-cup cold water. Beat with an electric mixer on low speed till combined. Beat on high speed of about 5 minutes or till satin smooth. Fold in orange peels set aside.
Thoroughly wash beaters. In a very large mixing bowl beat egg whites and cream of tartar on medium high speed till stiff peaks form, tips stand straight.
Then pour beaten mixture in a thin stream over egg white mixture and gently fold in. Gently pour batter into and ungreased 10 inch tube pan. Bake in a 325-degree oven for 65 to 70 minutes or till top springs back with lightly touched. Immediately invert cake in pan and cool completely
**** Note if you do not grease the tube pan, you will spend a lot of time scrubbing the tube pan. So I suggest ignoring the ungreased instruction.

