To break up the monotony at work, I check out books on CDs from the library.  At times when I do mindless work, I plug in my earphones and listen to the books.

As Simple As Snow is a mystery written by Gregory Galloway.
The story is told by a teenage boy who befriends an unusual Goth girl named Anastasia. The first part of the book is spent getting to know the characters with an in depth look of the relationships between the characters.  The second half of the book Anastasia disappears mysteriously.  I latch onto the book eagerly waiting to find out the answer to where Anastasia is.  Guess what, I finished the book and still have no clue as to what happen to or where Anastasia is. Through out the book there are very difficult clues, codes and riddles. In order to solve the mystery you have to decipher the clues and then you will find the answer.
I look up the book on the Internet and found that the author created a website to help define the clues, http://www.assimpleassnow.com.
One critic, name unknown from The Real Kato wrote;
“You can choose to read this book in a couple of different ways. If you want a light, fast, read, you can breeze through the book and enjoy the story as it is. If you want a challenge, you can twist your mind around all the subtle clues embedded within the small details. Or, you can do what I did: read the book once through quickly, and then go back and read it again to try to catch everything that you missed. The book was even better the second time through.
Sometimes you start looking for clues so intently that you start to see patterns that aren’t there. And I think that’s exactly what the author intended. It can really start to fry your brain cells, but if you like puzzles and mysteries, you’ll like this book.”
Looks like I will have to get a hard copy of the book and go through it slowly to figure out the mystery of Anastasia disappearance.
I would recommend this book if you like weird, quirky mysteries.  This book was written for teenagers.  Either teenagers are getting smarter, or I need to go back to high school to figure this out.

