The older I get the harder it is to get in the “Christmas Spirit”.  Then I got to thinking what is the Christmas spirit?  I have to examine just want I felt years passed.  The only thing I came up with, I was excited about the actual day, December 25th.  I wanted to hear the carols and sing along with them, I felt comfort looking at the decorated and lighted trees.  I enjoyed watching Charlie Brown Christmas, Rudolph Red Nose Reindeer, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas; It’s a Wonderful Life and White Christmas.  I know that this is not what Christmas is supposed to be about.  The Christians believe Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Christ.  But we live in times, when airports have to remove Christmas decorations because it is offensive to people of other religious beliefs.  We have to say Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas.  We have to worry about what kind of gifts we can get for our neighbors, friends, co-workers and family.  We examine out budgets and realize that we cannot afford Christmas this year, so we rack up a nice debt on our pretty shinny credit cards.
With age comes the realization that Christmas is a just a well thought out plot to boost the economy.
But as stubborn as I may be, my quest for this last week before Christmas is to find that spirit of Christmas, and to enjoy, because from what I remember it is a wonderful feeling.

