Health care in America….
It is a tragedy. Being without insurance for a while, I had to privately look for health insurance, what a joke. I applied to several of the large insurance companies and I got back rejection letters. The reason was one year I developed asthma after at being hit by two flu bugs in a row. It was just really a one-time incident where they prescribed an inhaler, once an asthmatic always an asthmatic in their eyes. They picked apart my applications like a grammar teacher from hell. The next year I reapplied, this time I was a little wiser, I anticipated the scrutinizing eyes. I was finally able to get insurance. It was so costly, and really did not cover a heck of a lot. I was responsible to some major co-pays for doctor’s visits and heaven forbid if I ended up in the hospital it would be thousands of dollars. Well the unforeseen occurred and I did end up having to have surgery. It took me forever to pay off the bill. On top of that, the insurance company increased my monthly bill. So what was the point of having insurance? I am not all together sure.
The Supreme Being needs to help those people who are sick and have no or lousy insurance.
In San Francisco only the Mayor passed a bill that would give everyone health insurance, very much like Canada. Anyone would have access to proper medical care without hassle or bills. This has caused uproar in the community of small business owners there. Where is the money coming from to afford this wonderful gift of health care for everyone? Well it is coming from a tax that everyone is required to pay. Mark my words, if the little gift the mayor gave to the City of San Francisco works out, he will probably be in the running for the President of US in the 2012 election.
In the meanwhile I am hoping really hard that with the upcoming election, whoever gets into office will do something positive for the American Public health care needs. We are a literally a dying country because of poor medical coverage we the people have.

Sicko is a good DVD to rent if you want a picture of the decline of Health Care in America.

