Today I ran into a former co-worker at the craft store. I was so happy to see her. She is a really sweet lady, when we worked together we became close. She really was not in a social mood, despite the fact that we had not seen each other for months. She asked how things were going, and I said we were just surviving daily life. She said so I am. Then she launched into the same sad story I have heard several times since I have know her. Her son is bipolar and alcoholic. He stops taking his medication and then just goes crazy, and takes off of random trips across the US. Last time he was in Boston when the police called her and told that he was found naked at 2 AM in the morning screaming at a light pole. Today, she said he called her from Miami and told her he was out of money. Every since he left he calls her from various Walmarts across the country and says he has no gas money. She somehow transfers money to him. (Her son is in his mid thirties.) She said her heart is in her throat with worry. Then she just walked off and said visit us some time at the facility. I feel her pain. It has been like this for her since her son was 21 years old. She has been cleaning up his messes and housing him all these years. It is a codependent relationship. I listened to her and tried to offer some comfort. After she left Big Sis said to me, gee Mom she is one of those people who believes that her problems are so much worst than the next person. She never even asked you about your situation. I said yeah, it is not like I would ever give up such personal information. When I was younger, I would tell people about my woos. Then I learned the hard way, most people really do not care, and just used the information for entertainment sake. We live in a funny world of people. Most people are so self absorbed and they find it difficult to step outside of this rigid box they put themselves in. I really like Sci-Fi. Aliens read each others minds and always stay connected to each others thoughts. I have seen several movies where the aliens comment that humans live in a lonely world. There is no mental connection between one human to another. The first time I heard that it gave me goose bumps. How different would our world be if all our thoughts were some how connected. We sure would think twice before we did something stupid.

