These are some popular suggestions of 10 things to do when you are bored for a short period of time
Blink wildly and then close your eyes really tight for an interesting light show.
See how long you can hold a note.
Try to not think about penguins.
Use your secret mind power
Pick a passing by and try to use your mind power to command them do something, like drop their bag or knock into someone. The law of averages dictates that sooner or later one of your mind commands will come true, so you can convince yourself that you really have super human powers and waste even more time trying them out.
Pretend you’re a robot
Scratch yourself
Repeat the same word over and over until it loses its meaning
Pinch yourself
Pretend to be a car

Ok I never thought of doing any of those things, if I was bored. Call me crazy, but my list goes like this.
Watch TV
Listen to music
Call someone
Surf the internet
Read
Sing randomly to the dog
Eat something
Go for a walk
Doodle
Clean out my purse
Write

I guess those popular suggestions were written by a man.

